Jewelry Talk: Custom Jewelry and the Joy in Co-creating

cropped-cropped-2008-06-06-21-58-56.jpg

“Done right, custom jewelry creation is a fun process that ends with a beautiful treasure that you cherish. That’s what I want for you.”

Who wrote that? I did. I was in an email dialog with a client as we started the process of creating her custom piece. Over the years, she had purchased several pieces from my website or at my former shop. This time she wanted something that was uniquely hers, to mark a special occasion. I love creating jewelry that becomes a treasure, and I am especially honored when someone enlists me to create one for them.

We chatted about the colors that she liked to wear, and I told her about all the different gems that coincided with those colors. That lead to a discussion about the energies associated with gemstones. When I made jewelry for my shop, I used to include a little info card describing the gemstone’s lore or attributed energies. My client said she frequently got compliments on those earrings, and she enjoyed telling people about the stones. I include gemstone energy info with to my ACJ pieces too.

When we finished our email chat, I sent her a rough drawing of the piece, along with pictures of the stones we talked about.

amycousinjewelry custom design ideas
gemstone and color ideas for a custom piece

I checked in with my client throughout the creation process, sending pictures of my progress on her treasure.

amycousinjewelry custom jewelry design
creating a gemstone pattern for a custom piece

By the time her treasure was ready to ship, she had ordered a pair of earrings for her best friend as well.

This is the process I will use to create your custom jewelry. There is still time to get a treasure for yourself or for someone special made for the holidays.
Contact me at info@amycousinjewelry.com and let’s start creating!

One thought on “Jewelry Talk: Custom Jewelry and the Joy in Co-creating

Leave a Reply

